So squishy I’m gonna die!

A couple months back I bought 3 skeins of Malabrigo Lace yarn at a moving sale at my LYS. Ever since then I have been drooling over 1500 yards of beautiful lace weight wool. I even resorted to cuddling it close to my face a couple of times. Patterns came and went but I never found a project worthy of the yarn. That is, until I saw the Die Cut Vest on the cover of Knit.Wear Magazine.

20130420-090110.jpg

The pattern is knit in a linen yarn and I was a little skeptical about knitting this up in a fluffy wool. I am pleasantly surprised by the way the pattern is knitting up although I am a little uncomfortable with the idea of a wool vest. In the Northeast it might not make a ton sense to have a sleeveless wool garment. I may end up adding sleeves at some point but for now I am planning to follow the pattern. Here is my progress on the lace portion. I love the way it looks and I can’t wait to see it blocked out! Even more, it just feels so wonderful and squishy.

20130420-090813.jpg

With that, I’m off for a day full of fiber lust with my boyfriend and his mom. I have plans to find a red floral fabric to match this odd skein of Malabrigo lace. I bought it at the same time as the pink and again, have been drooling over the color for about 5 months. Not only is it beautiful, it shares my name! I’m thinking it will look wonderful in a geometric lace/fabric hybrid project. More to come on that. It will be a patternless adventure.

20130420-093512.jpg

Leave a Reply

