Birthday Knitting (and a Trip)!

I am about to head home for my birthday next weekend. This will be the first time I have been home for a birthday in about 6 years. I have no clue why this is such a big deal for me this year but I am so excited to celebrate with my family.

Besides being home with my family I am also super excited to show my boyfriend around my hometown. I have been educating him about my upbringing through episodes of Portlandia but there are still some things he just needs to learn by being there. On our agenda is a hike at Multnomah Falls, Voodoo Doughnuts, Stumptown Coffee, Powell’s Books, the Cascade Brewery, and a day trip to the Oregon Coast. On my personal birthday agenda is a tour of Portland yarn shops in search of a yarny birthday gift to myself. I can’t decide on a pattern to knit because there are several that I have been drooling over lately. I have one week to decide between these:

20130928-110311.jpg
Khajiit Cowl by Lili Aghabeik

20130928-110259.jpg
Ease by Alicia Plummer

20130928-110116.jpg
Hitch by Mercedes Tarasovich-Clark

Input is greatly appreciated. Also, if anyone has any Portland yarn shop recommendations they are greatly appreciated. I grew up there but my fiscal ability to afford nice yarn didn’t mature until I moved away.

2 thoughts on “Birthday Knitting (and a Trip)!

  1. Well, you just can’t make a mistake on any of these patterns…they are all great. The cowl is the stand out item though I reckon. What a cool souvenir of a birthday and trip home.

Leave a Reply

